Listing Details


Contact Information
Contact Judy
Brisbane
$ 0.00
More Information
We have recently built a separate, self-contained, fully equipped one bedroom unit attached to our family home. We live in a quiet area in central Brisbane close to public transport, PA and Mater Hospitals, QUT and UQ. We would like you to look at the details below and see if you could fit in with our family and take advantage of this beautiful new unit at a very reasonable rate.
We are looking for an undergrad or postgrad student to help care for our daughter who is 22 years old and has cerebral palsy. Hours and rates are negotiable although some help either end of some weekdays will be needed and also some evenings and weekends. We suggest a trial period with a view to a 6-12 month contract so this may suit an overseas postgraduate or health professional but we have had undergraduate students help us before with good success so please apply if you think this post is right for you. We are happy to work out a package to mutual benefit such as waiving rent in exchange for hours of care for the right applicant.
Our daughter’s cerebral palsy limits how she is able to interact with the world but doesn't stop her from trying. We are looking for someone who can act as her friend, advocate and carer. She uses a power chair for mobility outside the home although her driving skills are variable so she needs careful supervision at all times. She walks with support to transfer indoors so a basic level of fitness is needed. She has a fair range of words to communicate but approximates some words so the applicant needs to be able to improvise/cajole and encourage by having a good grasp of English with a good sense of humour. She also has epilepsy with infrequent seizures so knowledge of !st Aid skills is essential for her safety. Currently she attends a day service from 9-3 most days so the carer is not needed full time which allows time for study and recreation.

We moved to Brisbane from the UK in 1994 and do not have extended family here so need help to care for our daughter with a view to the future. We have a busy family life with 2 teenage boys, an older daughter and a small poodle so the applicant needs to be flexible to fit in with our busy schedule of work/school and other commitments. This post will suit a female, non-smoker with a driver's licence being preferable although a car is not needed as the unit is so central. Training can be given although some basic awareness of disability would be an advantage. We are keen to find someone we like, who likes u
This Ad has been viewed 112 times.